jenniferamoo2

Road to professional learning communities

Fitting the Pieces Together

Now that you have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, how as your view on how you learn changed?
My learning view has changed dramatically because now am able to pull resources of skills from all of the theories and apply each to my learning needs. I can see everything is now connecting after learning about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past several weeks. I have a new appreciation of this knowledge with a deeper understanding about my learning style. I was not aware that I had different learning style and how the different learning strategies could help me to develop skills in ways that would not only be beneficial to my career. As Spence’s theory states in order to create learning associations, people have to gradually retain and build up their knowledge slowly through concept learning (Ormrod, Schunk & Gredler p. 105). I now have a deeper understanding on how, motivation strategies and enhancing technology tools. As Orrmrod stated before, but with deeper understanding I know now information processing helps instructional designers present information that not only stays with the WM, but also the LTM (Ormrod,Schunk & Gredler, p 52). As this course progressed, am really enjoin it which I never thought, I found it more as a refresher course for me. As an adult learner and educator in the digital age, my learning preference is the “Connectivism Learning Theory”. This learning theory is diverse in its network, its strength are tied to the context of occurrence and its various communities. Its delivery is balance among experiential learning with guided mentoring and collective reflection for all learners. According to Siemens and Downes 2005, “this theory expression through nonlinear association webs of representations. Co-design of learning experiences personalized to individual needs and preferences.” This theory too, I believe, is the way to learning for the next generation because of its technical suaveness and constant evolving for better understanding and users friendly.
What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?
As I gather my information through numerous networking sites. I learn through connectivism and also through other people and then make my own interpretations from it. Social connections with other people are my primary sources to connecting with this world. Gilbert and Swanier explain learning styles are affected by a variety of factors, including one’s heredity, social environment, family life and environmental demands (2008). I have learned in many different ways throughout my life. If I had to learn to perform a specific task, then the behaviorist theory of learning probably was used. It is an attempt to develop specific learning theory for the adult learners. According to Knowles, adults are self-directed and expect to take responsibility for their decisions. That adults need to know why they need to learn something; adults need to learn experientially; adults approach learning as problem-solving .Constructivist Theory Learning Styles is learning that is actively processing learning in ways in which learners construct new ideas or learning patterns based upon their current or past knowledge. According to J. Burner “The learner selects and transforms information, constructs hypotheses, and makes decisions, relying on a cognitive structure to do so. Cognitive structure is, for example, schema and mental models, which provides meaning and organization to experiences and allows the individual to go beyond the information given.”
What role does technology play in your learning?
Technology has evolved over the last couple of decades. However, through these changes there has been an increase in learning capabilities. Technology is an ongoing process. When I think about how far we have come along, it is amazing. Technology has played a very important role in my learning. For example how I will search for information via the web, using different search engine. I use a computer and the Internet to access my courses, research, and learning connections. I perform research using Google and my school’s online library, use software such as Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint to store, draft, and present information and use a feed aggregator to keep up with the many professional blogs I follow. However I use a netbook or tablet to access my courses. Soon, I will be learning about even more technology to develop and design learning programs. The challenge with using all of this technology is that it is constantly changing. That requires me to keep up with the changes so that I can continue to use the technology effectively. However, the effort to stay current with technology is a worthwhile investment in my goal to become and continue to be an accomplished instructional designer.
Most learners “learn best when there is a variety of learning opportunities that give them their chance to learn in their own way,” which is why it is important to include options when possible (Grantham, 2005). Grantham (2005) discussed Kolb’s learning styles – observers, thinkers, deciders and doers. From the definitions Grantham provided, my personal learning style incorporates two of Kolb’s four styles – observer and doer. These may sound like conflicting styles, but the reality is that they occur at different times. As an observer, I like to be given an example of how something works and I question whether I need to know it. However, as a doer, I learn by discovering things by myself and learning from mistakes
References:
Bandura, A. (1986). Social Foundations of Throught and Action: A Social Cognitive Theory. Englewood Cliffs: Prentice Hall, p. 23 (#1).
Downes, S. (2005). An Introduction to Connective Knowledge. In T. Hug (Ed) (2007). Media, Knowledge and Education. Exploring New Spaces, Relations and Dynmics in Digital Media Ecologies
Laureate Education, Inc. (Executive Producer). (n.d.). “Learning Styles and Strategies” [Video webcast]. Dr. Ormrod, J. Retrieved: 2013.http://clomedia.com/articles/view/developing_a_corporate_learning_strategy/1
Gilbert, J., & Swanier, C. (2008). Learning styles: How do they fluctuate?Institute for Learning Styles Journal [Vol. l]. Retrieved from http://www.auburn.edu/~witteje/ilsrj/Journal%20Volumes/Fall%202008%20Volume%201%20PDFs/Learning%20Styles%20How%20do%20They%20Fluctuate.pdf.
Grantham, D. (2005). Understanding student learning styles and theories of learning. Higher Education Academy. Retrieved from http://www.ukcle.ac.uk/resources/teaching-and-learning-practices/grantham2/
Knowles, M. (1968). Andragogy, not Pedagogy. Adult Leadership., 16(10), 350-352, 386.
Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2009). Learning Theories and Instruction (Laureate custom edition). New York: Pearson

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

